One of the Top Players in the 2016 NFL Draft is Campaigning to be a Green Bay Packer…

Reggie Ragland has made it clear he would love to be drafted by the Packers this year.

 

“I did meet with them, and they talked to me about that they needed a linebacker on the inside,” Ragland said. “And if they had the opportunity, I think they would. But I’m not sure. It all depends when draft day comes.”

“But they said they really need an inside linebacker, so they can move Clay (Matthews) back on the outside. If they get me, it would be a blessing in disguise because Green Bay’s always been one of my favorite teams growing up as a kid.”

How can you deny him that right? 

 

Especially when inside linebacker, the position he plays so passionately, is one of, if not the biggest position of need for Green Bay this upcoming season.

What makes this interesting though, and even a bit complicated, is that he is projected to go in the top 20 of this year’s draft and the Packers first selection is the 27th pick.

That means that Packers General Manager Ted Thompson would probably need to wheel and deal to get Ragland for his team. 

 

The only timeThompson has made a deal to move up in the draft was to grab linebacker Clay Matthews whom Ragland would most likely replace in the middle, as Matthews has made it clear he wants to move back to an outside linebacker spot.

 

I’m sure Packer fans would welcome Ragland to join fellow Alabama stars Eddie Lacy and Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, who have enjoyed success in their young careers,  even if it came at the price of an extra draft pick or two.

The Packers have a hungry young defense that could use another playmaker  that understands and plays the game at the level Ragland does.

“It would mean a lot to me that I came out there and I worked hard through the process that they really wanted me that bad to trade up for me,” said Ragland. 

“That means I really got to come in, whoever it is. If that happens, whoever it is, I’ve got to come out there and just play hard and prove to them I that they made the right decision by trading up to get me.” 

   

Packer fans are hungry for another difference making star to propel their team forward and since Green Bay’s front office is dedicated to building through the draft this seems like a fair compromise and possibly a perfect match.

The draft is still a ways off and only time will tell if the Packers front office can make Reggie Ragland’s Green and Gold wish one true.

Leave a Reply

