Packers Run-Stopper Staying Home After Signing Multi-Year Contract

How does Mike Daniels feel about signing a 4 year, 42 million dollar contract with the Green Bay Packers?

“Dallas just ran for like 100-something yards, so that’s what I’m more focused on, is making sure I get back to fixing what we need to fix for Oakland,” he said. “But yes, it’s great. I’ll celebrate and enjoy it after the season.

That’s exactly the attitude that made the Packers front office not want to wait until March to lock this guy up.

The fourth year veteran has always played with a vengeance after not being drafted until the 4th round, because at 6 foot even, many scouts thought he was “too short” to battle in the trenches.

“The fact that I sign a contract doesn’t change the fact that I got overlooked in high school, doesn’t change the fact that I was consistently called short coming out in the draft, and I’m not strong and I can’t play the run and all this other stuff. It doesn’t change the fact that I had to grind to get where I’m at.” Daniels said. “It’s not going to change. It’s just how I approach the game, it’s how I play.” 

 
That level of play has earn him the spot this year as the best run stopping 3-4 DE, ahead of the likes of superstar J.J. Watt, and it’s kept the Packers in the running for a Super Bowl even though their high powered offense has sputtered at times this season.

“I want to win Super Bowls with this team,” Daniels said. “This is like home to me. This is a great place to be. I don’t want to be anywhere else. I’ve heard a lot of horror stories, so I’m glad I’m here.

In a league were it seems that too many players in the league have the mentality of “Show me the Money,” Daniels’ eyes are set on a much higher prize. 

 
“I don’t want anything to do with this,” Daniels said, referring to the financial side of things. “I want to focus on the season. I want to be in Green Bay. Make sure I’m in Green Bay.”

The scary part for opponents is, that at 26 years old this monster of a man is just entering his prime and scratching the surface of his potential.

The great part for Packer fans is, now they can just sit back, relax, and watch as the damage is done.

Leave a Reply

